The Federation of International Women’s Associations in London (FIWAL) is an umbrella organization comprising 30 clubs and associations based in London. Its role is to provide a forum for the exchange of information, ideas and expertise between its member organizations.

Its formation in March 1986 stemmed from the strong belief that, if women of different races, religions and cultures from national associations could meet in a strictly non-political but structured and relaxed manner, they would find common ground through shared interests which would benefit their organisations and individual membership.

FIWAL’s members grow in understanding, and, from that understanding mutual support and strength flourish.

“FIWAL has grown into an organisation where women from every country, faith and culture can meet, learn from each other and become real friends.” – Jocelyn Jones, FIWAL Founder

How we work
Each member Association may elect up to four delegates to FIWAL and at least one delegate represents her Association on FIWAL’s Board of Delegates which meets three times a year. The Board of Delegates elect an Executive Committee which is responsible for the day to day operation of FIWAL. You can read our full constitution here.

FIWAL publishes an e-newsletter, International Dateline, throughout the year which carries information on member associations’ activities and articles of interest for the entire FIWAL membership. Additional publications are produced by FIWAL to coincide with major events such as biennial conferences where a commemorative booklet is specially prepared on the occasion of each major conference.

Executive Committee from September 2019
(as of June 2019)

Siobhan Hamilton-Phillips
a member of Commonwealth Countries League

Second Vice President
Zehan Albakri
a member of The Pan Asian Women’s Association

Honorary Secretary
Ameeta Sabharwal
a member of The Women’s Council

Honorary Treasurer
Sylvia Wallach
a member of The American Women’s Club of London

Membership Coordinator
Elizabeth Duke
a member of The Australian Women’s Club

Events Team
Lamees Ibrahim
a member of KCWC & the Women’s Council

Helen Sargent
a member of The Australian Women’s Club

Rose Naigaga-Gugan
a member of KCWC

Mary Jane Eckert
a member of the American Women’s Club of London

Salwa Mayassi
a member of The Arab Women’s Association

Immediate Past President
Laura Schapira
a member of The American Women’s Club and Hampstead Women’s Club

Past President, Diplomatic Advisory Committee
Hulya Kocu
a member of The Women’s Council

Past President, Diplomatic Advisory Committee
Caroline Muir
a member of The Women’s Council

Dateline Editor/Social Media
Susan Jahanshahi
a member of KCWC and The Hampstead Women’s Club

Barbara Richards
a member of The Canadian Women’s Club

Past Presidents continue to work with the Executive on an Advisory Committee.